Free shipping on orders of £25 and above.


Your Cart is Empty

  • Jewellery

  • Pearls
  • New Additions to the Avalon Collection

    July 02, 2019 1 min read

    With the addition of new statement five-stone necklaces to our Avalon collection, we thought we’d tell you about the inspiration behind these beautiful pieces.



    High Romance and Natural Forms

    The Last Sleep of Arthur in Avalon

    “The Last Sleep of Arthur in Avalon”, Edward Burne-Jones

    The Avalon collection, named after the seminal work of the Pre-Raphaelite painter, Edward Burne-Jones, is reminiscent of the rich colours and natural beauty portrayed in his magnum opus “The Last Sleep of Arthur in Avalon”. Within the depiction of the legendary hero-king, Arthur, sleeping upon the idyllic island of Avalon, attendant women wear bejewelled crowns in-set with bright gems. Yet it is King Arthur’s crown that captures eye and is the most beguiling attraction. Taking inspiration from this stunning focal point of a colourful and vibrant stone-set crown, our Avalon collection references these rich and regal tones.


    Individually Selected Natural Gemstones

    We have selected an exquisite array of gemstones for this collection which display deep, rich jewel-tones to mirror the vibrant colours of the Pre-Raphaelite style. Within the collection you can choose from vivid Malachite, uniquely banded agates or striking rutilated quartz. These gemstone varieties display individuality, with no stone the same as another. After carefully selecting each stone, the gems are then individually hand finished with a honeycomb faceting. The simple settings in highly polished silver or gold vermeil focus the attention on the gemstones, and create bold pieces of jewellery that make an impactful statement when worn.


    The full collection consists of earrings, rings, necklaces and bracelets, and can be viewed here: Avalon Collection